Connect With The Museum


Award Recipient Named for National Award of Nuclear Science & History

January 13, 2016

Barry A. Siegel, M.D., Professor of Radiology and Medicine at Washington University School of Medicine, has been named the recipient of the 2016 National Award of Nuclear Science & History – an award presented annually by the National Atomic Museum Foundation to a prominent person or entity who has had an impact on nuclear issues. The award will be presented at the 19th Annual Einstein Gala, New Mexico’s biggest science party of the year, at 5:30 p.m. on Saturday, March 19, 2016, at the Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown Hotel.

Dr. Siegel - receiving the award that celebrates the wide scope of achievement and commitment to furthering scientific endeavors made by individuals in areas of leadership, technology, government, energy and education – is also the Director of the Division of Nuclear Medicine at Mallinckrodt Institute of Radiology and a member of the University’s Alvin J. Siteman Cancer Center.

“Dr. Barry Siegel is a pioneering medical professional in the nuclear medical field, and we are honored to acknowledge the professional work of medical advancement and those who practice in the field,” said Jim Walther, Museum Director. “In the 19 years we have presented this award, only one other medical professional has been honored and recognized for the National Award of Nuclear Science & History.”

Throughout his career, Dr Siegel has been active in nuclear medicine research and has made contributions related to the diagnosis of pulmonary embolism, the detection of thrombosis, and oncological applications of radionuclide tracers. For the last two decades his research efforts have focused on uses of positron emission tomography (PET) for cancer diagnosis and staging, as well as predicting and monitoring tumor response to therapy. He also has been heavily engaged in the development and conduct of multicenter clinical trials in the arena of cancer imaging with PET via leadership roles in both the American College of Surgeons Oncology Group (ACOSOG) the American College of Radiology Imaging Network (ACRIN). Since 2005, he has devoted much of his time to the development and operation of the National Oncologic PET Registry, and those efforts have helped to greatly expand coverage for PET by the Medicare program.

A prolific writer and editor, with over 380 journal articles, book chapters, and books to his credit, Dr. Siegel is also actively involved as an editorial board member for several journals, and served from 1988 to 2002 as the Editor In Chief of the Professional Self-Evaluation Program (the "Syllabus Series") published by the American College of Radiology.

Dr. Siegel is active in government affairs, having served as a consultant and advisory committee chair for the Food and Drug Administration. He is also a past chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission's Advisory Committee on the Medical Use of Isotopes, and a consultant to the NRC. His contributions have been recognized by several professional societies such as the Georg Charles de Hevesy Nuclear Pioneer Award for outstanding contributions to nuclear medicine from the Society of Nuclear Medicine in 2003, the Peter Valk Distinguished Clinical Scientist Award from the Academy of Molecular Imaging in 2008, and the Benedict Cassen Prize from the Education and Research Foundation for Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging in 2014.

Dr. Siegel will receive the National Award of Nuclear Science & History during the 19th Annual Einstein Gala on Saturday, March 19, 2016. Proceeds from the Einstein Gala fundraising event will help support the Museum’s STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) educational programs for K-12 students as well as professional development workshops for science and math teachers.

The Einstein Gala, a black-tie event, is the Museum’s largest fundraising event of the year that will introduce intricate science experiments performed by Museum junior volunteers, a unique silent auction, dinner among some of the most brilliant minds in science, local entertainment throughout the evening as well as honoring Dr. Siegel with the 19th National Award of Nuclear Science & History.

Lockheed Martin/Sandia National Laboratories and URENCO, USA are sponsors of the 19th Annual Einstein Gala.

The evening will begin at 5:30 p.m. Tickets are $125 each and can be purchased on the Museum’s website at through March 11. Table sponsorships are also available. For information, contact Jessica Tonjes, Director of Development, at 505-245-2137, extension 110.

Nuclear After Dark - Trinity Files, October 6, 2017

Become immersed in history and visit the museum after hours as we premiere our replica of the 100ft Trinity Tour, host an outdoor screening of "Modern Marvels" The Manhattan Project, welcome local food trucks and brewery and invite visitors of all ages to learn, think, imagine and draw your own conclusions. 

Learn More

STEaM Photography Competition - Notification of Selected Photos is September 27

All photographers who submitted photos for the 2017 STEaM Photography Show will be notified no later than September 27 if their work has been accepted into the STEaM Photo Exhibition. Click here for more information.

Learn More

Nuclear Science Week, October 16-20

During Nuclear Science Week, the museum invites students in grades 6-12 with their schools to visit the museum for special activities themed around nuclear science. Field trips during this time include free busing and admission for accepted groups thanks to the generous support of our donors.

Learn More
Membership Tickets
Online Tickets Membership Donate