About Us

National Museum of Nuclear Science & History Announces Volunteer Recognition Awards

[Albuquerque, NM] – The National Museum of Nuclear Science & History is pleased to announce Sam Finch as the Maydew-Jeblick Volunteer Award winner and Khloe Batres as the recipient of the Student Volunteer Award. The awards were announced recently at the Museum’s Volunteer Holiday Party. The event is held annually to recognize the contributions of the Museum’s over 100 volunteers. Awards were also presented for years of service to the Museum.

About the Maydew-Jeblick Award

The Maydew-Jeblick Award is the highest honor given to a volunteer since 2001. It honors the memory of Randall C. Maydew and Harold Jeblick. Sam Finch was recognized for his dedicated and exemplary volunteer service since 2018. A part of the Museum’s restoration team, Sam has dedicated his time and expertise inside the Museum and outside the Museum’s nine-acre Heritage Park, featuring planes, rockets, missiles, cannons, and a nuclear submarine sail.

“As a volunteer role model, Sam trains new volunteers and leads insightful tours that enrich the visitor experience,” said Jennifer Hayden, President and CEO of the Museum. “Sam is passionate about his work in preservation and is currently the only volunteer who has flown a B-52. We are grateful for his selfless dedication, his impact on our visitors, and his inspiration to other volunteers.”

About the Student of the Year Award

The Museum’s Education team nominated the Student Volunteer Award to Khloe Batres of Rio Rancho. A ninth-grade student, Khloe was recognized for her high level of commitment to the Museum, her leadership qualities, and her initiative.

Volunteers are a treasured part of the museum,” added Hayden. “We are especially pleased to recognize Khloe as a student who has a passion for STEM education and can serve as an inspiration to her peers.”

Also recognized were five-year volunteer recipients Rommie Compher, Everett Heinonen, Jan Heinonen, Marty Pfeiffer, and Chuck Thompson.